top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSofia Saunders

July 10

Updated: Jul 17, 2022

Today was our first full day with our host families so we decided to hang out and rest. We slept in and then went to get churros and chocolate sauce for breakfast! They were so good! One thing that I thought was interesting about Spain is that they call juice “zumo”. In Spanish class, we’re always told that it’s “jugo” but I guess not in Spain. Some other unique words here are “coche” instead of “carro” and instead of “celular”, they use “móvil”. It was hard to get used to but I think I’m getting better with it. Another thing throwing me off is the lisp. When I first met my host family, they tried hard to have good pronunciation and used “s” instead of “th” but now they are using aren’t and I can hear the “th” more and more. Earlier, they taught me the word for carrot, zanahoria, and pronounced it like “thanaoria”, which confused me a lot. It’s going to take some getting used to but I’ll get it eventually.


After breakfast, they brought me to the huge park in Valladolid to see the peacocks and the river. It was so pretty. Then we went around the square and took a picture in front of the big Valladolid sign. Then we walked a little more and got to look inside a beautiful church.


Later we went back to their house and hung out at the pool for the rest of the day :)
















15 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page