top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSofia Saunders

July 16

As it's nearing the last week of the program, I've become really sad about leaving. I've made such incredible friends and memories during my time here that I wouldn't trade for anything. I feel like although I met them four weeks ago, I've known them for years. I hope that we will be able to meet again in the future, whether it's at college or on our own time. Since last week, we've done so much, especially with final projects due and prepping for the final exhibition.


Last weekend, we went to the beach. However, halfway through, it began storming(a very common occurrence in Georgia), so the trip was cut short. The rain here, although it lasts for a short time, is very intense and always accompanied by thunder and lightning. Even with the rain, the temperature is nowhere near cool, the rain only adds to the heat with its humidity. Tomorrow, the high is supposed to be at 99 degrees. It's hard to be in that kind of heat here because Savannah is so walkable, we always walk everywhere, even to classes(SCAD is an open campus and the classes are spread out throughout the city).


Classes this week have been the most difficult ones yet. We had to be completely done with our architecture project by the end of the week and thanks to a couple late nights(one all nighter) and a lot of free time spent in Clark Hall, I finally finished and mounted my design for the exhibition. I still have to study for our final exam that will be next week but after that we will be completely done! That's so weird to think about. In drawing, we finished our big charcoal piece and are now working on our final sketchbook submission. It consists of 15 drawings and we've done about 7 so far. I've really been enjoying my time in this class and have seen a significant improvement in my work since I started here.


Besides school, my friends and I have been also finding time to explore Savannah. We went to the Forsyth Park farmers market yesterday where I got a couple of art prints and walked around. The parks here are so beautiful and green, I love to go to them. We also had a "Christmas in July" party for the 13 of us where we played secret santa with a budget of $5. It was so so fun, I got a little care bear stuffed animal. I'm going to miss all my friends so much!





(I'm sorry this is so late, I thought that I had posted these but there were still in my drafts)







3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page