top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSofia Saunders

July 18

Today was a very hectic morning. I woke up and got to say bye to my host mom since she had to leave for work before me. It was so sad. We planned that they will all come to Hawaii to visit one day but it was still so sad to leave them. :(  Then María surprised me by waking up early and saying bye one last time. We both almost cried but I’m so happy that I got to say bye one last time. By then we were already rushing to make it to the bus but THEN, Esther was filling up my water while I was wheeling my bags outside, when she dropped the glass pitcher and glass and water got everywhere! We had to clean it all up but by the time we did that, we had missed the bus! It was all very stressful. Esther laughed and said that it’s a sign that I should stay with them. I agree. I don’t want to leave :(  We ran to catch the next bus and thankfully made it there right on time. We got to the Cafetería Chocolatería Toledo to get churros and chocolate sauce for breakfast. It was awesome to be able to hang out with everyone one last time before saying bye. We were all very sad but didn’t cry until we actually got to the bus stop where we had to say bye. Most everyone was sobbing(including me). I hugged everyone until they said we had to go. Then we got on the bus and waved from the windows. I’m going to miss Esther, her family, and Daniela(Esther’s best friend) soooo much!! I really hope I can see them again one day, whether they come to Hawaii or I come back. Im planning on coming back. I love Spain so much and I really think I want to do some college here. Rachel, another girl from America, is planning on going to college here next year. I still have two years but I want to too. And now we’re going to be staying at an actual university in Madrid for a couple days!

After we left, we went on a 2 hour drive to Segovia. It was SO BEAUTIFUL! I really wish we had some time to shop there since everything was so pretty and very cheap. But, we had to go straight to the palace. It was so incredible!! The architecture of the castle was amazing! There were so many tiny carvings that contributed so much to the entire building. We climbed over 100 stairs to the top of the tallest tower. We were all so tired by the top but it was definitely worth it! The view was amazing!! Eventually we had to leave the palace and walked back to the bus, with a short stop at a grocery store to get lunch. It was sooo hot there so I got an Aquarius, a really good drink that’s like lemon flavored water that kind of tastes like lemonade but better. I’m definitely going to miss them so much. They taste so good. I also got an apple and a salad for the bus ride. We rode about another hour to Madrid and finally got to the college! We all got our own single rooms. They are super cool! We each have a bed, desk, full closet, and our own bathroom! I’m so happy that we don’t have to share bathrooms! But the weirdest thing is that they don’t have and ceiling fans!! I thought they would have them there but no. At least they have electric fans in every room to plug in. Everyone was really tired when we got there so me and a bunch of other people took some short naps and then we all went down to go to the pool. It was so nice I love this pool. Then we pretty much just hung out until we had to get dinner at the cafeteria. It was not the best food I’ve had while here. We had some sort if green soup that tasted kind of like artichokes and then some salmon. I was hoping that we would have more traditional Spanish foods, but it wasn’t too bad. That night a couple of us went on a night walk with Erin and walked right past a huge concert! Tomorrow Jessie J is going to be performing there!!! But we can’t go since the tickets are over 90€ and none of us want to spend that much money. It was fun to hear them though. Then we went back to the dorms. Tomorrow we are going to be going into the city and exploring.











14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page