top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSofia Saunders

July 19

Today we had to wake up early to get a quick breakfast in the cafeteria and then take the metro into the city. The first thing we did was go to an awesome Egyptian Temple! We had to wait for a while before but it was super cool so everyone had fun. It had a bunch of ancient carvings and rocks in the inside and was super cool to see. Then we walked to the royal palace, although the royal family doesn’t actually live there, it was so beautiful and amazing!! The grounds were so pretty it was crazy! From there, we were allowed to split off into groups and explore the city on our own. That’s my favorite time. I feel like we find more things when we’re not in a huge group. I went with Ayla, Sahí, and Tess to get some lunch. We got tapas. A little bit of everything. We got paella, carne, mussels, tortilla patata, serrano bocadillos, and more. It was so amazing. I felt bad for the other group that’s went off to get pizza. The tapas were absolutely better than pizza. Then we went to a Zara and a PullAndBear but didn’t find anything. It was just fun to hang out in the city. At least then we found a small touristy souvenir store where I got some gifts and an “I Heart Madrid” t shirt. I love it so much it’s funny. Then we met back up with the group and walked to the Madrid equivalent to Times Square. It wasn’t as crazy as New York but still super huge and fun! We went to Corte Ingles and took some really cute photo booth pictures. It was fun! Then we left the city around 7:30 and had dinner back at the residence. I had croquetas but it definitely wasn’t as good as the kind that my host mom made for me. I’ve been texting them all day and telling them I miss them a lot. I Esther’s going to camp on Thursday and won’t be able to text me but we can text until then.

We went on another night walk and could hear Jessie J performing. It was so cool. We couldn’t see her though. Only hear the crowds freaking out. It was still really fun though. Tomorrow we’re going to be going to the Prado museum!! I’m so excited! We’re going to see the real Las Meninas by Velásquez! I’m very excited.














9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page