top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSofia Saunders

July 7

Today is my first day in Spain! We got here around 9am this morning(Spain time), but in New York, it’s still 3am so we were all very tired. From Madrid, we took a 3 hour bus ride into Valladolid where we met all our host families! I finally got to meet Esther and her family!! They are all so nice but their Spanish is very fast and at times it’s difficult for me to understand them. They had lunch ready for me, cheese pasta and very good chicken.  But I didn’t eat much because I was still tired from the long plane. So, I took an hour long nap and after , Esther and I went to one of her friends houses and i got to meet a bunch of her friends and swim in the pool. It was definitely hard to communicate with everyone, Esther had to be my translator, but it was so fun! After we were in the pool for a couple hours, we ordered pizza and ate it in the house. Even when they can’t speak much english and i can’t speak much spanish, we still tried to talk. It was confusing but fun. We got home around 10 and I gave my host family their gifts. they loved them! I brought spices, a tea towel, a magnet, and coffee from Kauai for my host parents and for my host sisters, I got a small bag, a bracelet, and a shirt for each of them. Tomorrow we’re going to wake up early and meet up with the group and then do a tour of Valladolid, I’m excited!!






17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page