top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSofia Saunders

June 20, 2023

Good morning!! Actually it is the morning of June 21 and I have my classes in about an hour and a half. I just thought I would update a little since yesterday was my first day of classes!


Yesterday was a very full day since it was the first day of my classes! I had architecture first and originally, I was very nervous for it. However, being in class and understanding our future projects and assignments really made me get excited for the rest of these five weeks. The class consisted of an introduction to the syllabus, icebreakers, a tour of Clark Hall, and a lecture. We were given our first homework assignment, write a one page analysis about how the three architectural attitudes of our dorm rooms make us feel. This is because we're going to be diving more into how the way that architecture is designed has a major influence on people's emotions and reactions. Today, in a little bit, I'm going to present my essay to the class, along with everyone else. I'm mostly excited for our first project, we're going to go around Savannah on our free time and sketch aspects of buildings including doors, windows, staircases, and more. I'm really excited.


Then a couple hours later I had drawing. I have it with my roommate so I already knew someone in that class which made it a little less intimidating. On day one, we already dove into still life drawing of a bottle. We started with three second gesture drawings to warm up and make sure that our lines aren't stiff. Then, we turned to our drawing sheets and did our first still life, along with a critique by Professor Johnson. The class was so fun, I'm very excited to continue along with it.


The whole college is such a great environment, all my roommates and I have been sticking together as much as possible. I've talked to a couple other people who aren't as close with their roommates as me, I'm lucky that I got people who were so nice and open to hanging out with each other. One girl in my drawing class' roommate hasn't even spoken to her, even though they've been living in the same room for three days now. We've also made a couple friends outside of our roommates who we call our "exploring buddies". We make sure not to go out in the city while in small groups and always call each other if there's a coffee shop or bookstore we want to go to. Yesterday we spent a while at the SCAD bookstore finishing homework and sketching, it's been so amazing to be around so many artists in this place, there is so many talented people.


I'm not sure how often I'll be able to post an entry but I'll try my best to do two a week. Bye! Thanks for reading ☺️ ☺️


- Sofia Saunders







12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page